IHSAA Round 2 Results

May 25, 2018

Iowa – The Iowa PGA partnered with the Iowa High School Athletic Association for the Boys State Golf Championships on May 24-25. The final round of the event was completed at the Westwood Golf Club for 1A, the American Legion Golf Course for 2A and Lakeside Municipal Golf Course for 3A. 
Grundy Center was the 1A Team Champion, with Harris-Lake Park taking second place and Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton finishing third. The 1A individual champion was Jacob Hesner from East Buchanan, Winthrop. The second-place finisher from 1A was Kaleb Hagge, Winfield-Mt. Union and Andrew Arndorfer from Bishop-Garrigan, Algona took third place. 
1A Individual Leaders
   1. Jacob Hesner, East Buchanan-Winthrop (147)
   2. Kaleb Hagge, Winfield-Mt. Union (148)
   3. Andrew Arndorfer, Bishop-Garrigan, Algona (151)
   4. Jake Bangasser, Grundy Center (155)
   5. Austin Eckenrod, Newman Catholic, Mason City (155)
   6. Elijah Lamoureux, Westwood, Sloan (159)
  T7. Lucas Gunderson, Harris-Lake Park (161)
  T7. Ethan Stricher, Edgewood-Colesburg (161)
  T7. Clayton Phillips, New London (161)
   T7. Kyler Rasmussen, IKM-Manning (161)
Click here for full 1A individual results
1A Team Leaders
   1. Grundy Center (683)
   2. Harris-Lake Park (687)
   3. Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton (696)
Click here for full 1A team results
The 2A Team State Golf Champion was Kuemper Catholic, Carroll, improving from last year when they took second place. PCM-Monroe finished in second and the third-place team was Des Moines, Christian. Bo Weissenfluh from Dike-New Hartford won the 2A individual championship. The second-place finisher was Kolby Shackelford from Panorama, Panora and the third place winner is Nate Mertz from Kuemper Catholic, Caroll. 
2A Individual Leaders
   1. Bo Weissenfluh, Dike-New Hartford (144) 
   T2. Kolby Shackelford, Panorama, Panora (145)
   T3. Nate Mertz, Kuemper Catholic, Carroll (147) 
   T3. Jared Tiggers, Kuemper Catholic, Carroll (147)
    5. Tyler Merley, Sheldon (148)
    6. Ted Bridges, West Branch (149)
   T7. Will Larson, Roland-Story, Story City (150)
   T7. Zach Martin, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows (150)
2A Team Leaders
   1. Kuemper Catholic, Carroll (604)
   2. PCM, Monroe (619)
   3. Des Moines, Christian (623)
Central DeWitt defended their 2017 title with a win in the 2018 3A State Championship. Finishing behind them and taking second place is Nevada with Clear Lake finished third. The 3A individual State Golf Champion is Lucas Scherf from Grinnell. Scherf placed third in the 2017 3A State Championship. The second-place finisher is Tucker Kinney from Central DeWitt and Rielly McGranahan from Central DeWitt is this year’s third place finisher. 
3A Individual Leaders
   1. Lucas Scherf, Grinnell (142)
   2. Tucker Kinney, Central DeWitt (146)
  T3. Rielly McGranahan, Central DeWitt (147)
  T3. Noah Hartman, Ballard (147)
   5. Micah Moyer, Spencer (149)
   6. Ezra Meyer, Spencer (150)
   7. Tommt Doyle, Gilbert (151)
3A Team Leaders
   1. Central DeWitt (609)
   2. Nevada (630)
   3. Clear Lake (631)

Click here for full 3A team results

The Iowa PGA would like to thank Brad Sponseller, PGA of Westwood GC, Josh Hogland, PGA of American Legion GC and Judd Gibb, PGA of Lakeside Municipal GC and their staffs for hosting the 2018 Boys State Championships at their facilities.